My April Favourites

april favs

It has been a while since I last updated my favourite list. Since I have missed out on quite a number, I figured out I might as well just combine all the gems I have found during the few months together in this blog. There have been quite a few hits and misses; but at the same time, they are based on my opinion and also my very own experiences with the products, which means others might not go through the same things I have. x


Favs

1. All Nighter Long Lasting Makeup Setting Spray
urbandecayallnighter

This comes as no surprise to almost everyone that has been into makeup. Though having tried it before, I actually have not owned any, which means I have not been able to thoroughly test it day by day to see whether it would trigger anything odd skin-wise and makeup-wise. I genuinely cannot describe how much I was impressed by how fresh it felt, how long it lasted (compared to when I had setting powder but not setting spray on). There was a time I was running under the rain without a hood and my makeup still stayed locked(!) It could have also been because of the foundation, which is another gem have added to my daily routine. For the price, I actually prefer the MAC one; however, I got this when Debenhams was doing discounts, so I guess it was a win.

2. Pro Filt’r Soft Matte Longwear Foundation

fentybeautyfoundationFenty Beauty was a big hit and everyone was talking about how good it was so I eventually just had to go to Harvey Nichols to get myself my very own foundation lol. Despite the fact that I normally get influenced by people’s opinions (in the way that if people keep complimenting on something, I will just find it average), I found the foundation super bomb. It was super amazing how they launched with the range of 40 shades, which just levelled up the game in the beauty industry. Besides, it is lightweight, not full-coverage but can totally be built up. However, this might be an issue if you only use foundation without concealer and have really dark spots/acne scars – like my skin. Also, it definitely oxidises after some time wearing it, not crazily, but would make you want to for a slightly lighter shade so when your makeup is done, it can perfectly match your skin colour. If you don’t know what oxidise means, it means that the foundation turns darker. On the other hand, of course I cannot say chemicals are gentle to my face, but I feel like the foundation is quite gentle to my face as in that it does not clog my pores or cause any skin irritation. This makes me normally decide to go for the foundation on a really hot day when my skin needs to breath.

3. Revolution Duo Brow Pencil

revolutioneyebrowpencilThis one was really a random choice and I bought it out of no recommendations at all. Superdrug always do 3 for 2 across all makeups, hence I was just thinking I shall buy something that I do not really need but want to try out. And the eyebrow pencil was literally lying there catching my attention (mostly because it fell in the same price range as the other two I had got already—for the purpose of 3 for 2 offer). The shade I got was supposedly my shade, but it was literally super dark, mainly because of how pigmented it is. You just need a tiny bit and you can draw 2 snatched eyebrows already. Since I don’t have to use that much product to get the pigment out, what I normally do is getting a bit out across my eyebrows, then use an eyebrow brush to blend them out however I want. That way, I can control the movement of my hand better, plus saving some more product. It lasts all day long, despite not being transfer-resistant, which makes me guess it is due to how rich the colour is.

4. Jouer Foundation

jouerfoundationThis can be a hot, this can be a not, I am still super indecisive. However, I guess when I compare the pros and cons, the benefits seem to have outweighed the drawbacks. I was able to afford Jouer when Beauty Bay was doing 20% off student discount, making this more affordable (lol). The first time I put it on, it looked and definitely felt heavy on the skin. It was definitely the feeling when you know you were having makeup on and it was just kind of sitting on top of the skin rather sinking down (of course we don’t want makeup to sink in the pores and skin but we need that lightweight feeling). This means it is not as transfer-proof/resistant as some others out there. Being a matte foundation, it can also dry your skin out a wee bit as well if you slightly over-powder your face, which is not as beneficial for me because my right eye’s under-eye and forehead crease a lot and I hate looking at them creases. Despite that, I still had to give a fair few more shots, not only because I heard so many good things about it, but also because I spent way too much money on it to give up (lol). It, later on, actually turned out alright once I got a hold of how much powder is enough for the foundation on my skin specifically. I cannot deny the fact that the coverage is insane as I only need one pump of foundation to fully cover my face. This means when comparing to other foundations, you don’t need as much product to achieve that coverage, meaning you save more of the product, making the price point not that expensive when you break down how much you spend each time you do your makeup. Besides, I think it definitely lasts quite long without crazy breakdown/meltdown through the day after having tried on both super sunny and warm days and rainy days. After all that, the decision to purchase it or not also depends on what look you are going for. If you are pursuing that natural makeup look, this is nowhere near an option, but if you are like me and in love with that mannequin skin look, this is for you. Another thing that I am still wondering is that after wearing the foundation everyday, my skin seems to have breakouts more frequently, making me decide to go makeup free for a few days to let my skin rest.

5. Colgate Whitening Toothpaste 

colgatemaxwhite.jpgThis one is not makeup related at all, just something I found in Superdrug on the same day I really needed new toothpaste. It claims to make your teeth whiter and results can be seen after 5 days. It took more than just 5 days to make mine whiter, however, it was only a week and a half and I could see the difference. Of course when doing all teeth whitening treatment or using teeth whitening toothpaste, you have to avoid consuming any food with colours that can stain. For examples, you are always highly advised not to drink Coke, eat tomato soup, etc. because you need to keep the base of your teeth as clean as possible. By doing so, you can see the result more clearly and rapid. In general, for the price I paid, I think this is a decent product that works really well.

6. Harry Potter Game

This is so random but the game was definitely a big hit when it was first released. It just allows you to live in your own fantasy of the Hogwart’s world once again. You get to have your own character, choose your own house, and make your own decisions throughout the game. You also compete with other houses and players (I suppose because there’s ranking), which can be super fun and addictive. It is basically a game for you to kill your time and who doesn’t wish to be a wizard for once?


Flops

1. Revolution Fast Base Foundation Stick

revolutionstickfoundation.jpgThis is probably the worst foundation I have tried so far. Even though I love Revolution as a brand, not only because their products are amazing, but also because they are all super affordable, I cannot love this foundation after having tried it for three times. I bought this foundation on the day I ran to work late and needed to do my makeup on the go. I cannot get over the fact that I brought everything with me apart from the foundation, which was why I had to run to Superdrug quickly to get foundation. As for the foundation stick, after applying it on your face, it blends out super fine, however, it can start creasing moderately quickly and throughout the day, it starts peeling off as well. And the foundation is just sitting on the skin, even when you use setting powder, it will just move around when you apply other products on top. This results in the foundation grabbing powder products and make them look super patchy and not blended well enough. Even though I only had to pay a fiver for it, it is definitely not worth it. I had to say it has been super disappointing trying the foundation, and I will probably not be reaching out for it again. I would rather pay some extra quids to get the Rimmel or Maybelline ones.

2. Tea Tree Skin Clearing Foaming Cleanser

thebodyshopfoamingcleanserI love The Body Shop as a brand in general, so I reckon this is mainly because of me that I dislike the cleanser. Since my skin is combination to dry skin, foam cleanser is not a very good friend of mine. The more foam the cleanser has, the drier it is going make your skin and it wasn’t until I purchased it that I found out about that. To be honest, most of the products in The Body Shop are super affordable anyway, so I didn’t think I wasted a lot of money. After using it for a few times, I started having a few breakouts because it was too dry for my skin, thus I just left it aside and only use it on the days I come home super drunk and cannot be bothered to do my daily makeup remove routine. It does cleanse everything out decently so I am quite happy about that, just that it’s not the most suitable for my skin.

3. Rimmel white eye pencil

rimmeleyepencil.jpgI wouldn’t say the eye pencil is crazy horrible, but I would probably not say that it’s anywhere near good. For the price point, it is not too bad, however, because I never use white eye pencil, I am not capable of recommending any alternatives to it. The issue I had with this eye pencil is that the colour fades away fairly quickly and it is not really pigmented to begin with. If you quickly need a white eye pencil, this can be it, but you are searching for a really good one to use everyday, this will just be a pass.


I’m really glad I could finally had time to write these again. And even more glad that in the next few weeks, I would have even more time to write, to relax and to be with everyone back home. Thank y’all for reading and hope y’all will have a fantasbulous week!


"I love the confidence that makeup gives me." - Tyra Banks 

Leave a comment